Help with cooling system

Page 1 / 4
tygertung, Jan 6, 5:10pm
I've seen men who didn't take any notice of the red low oil pressure light.

I really think though that there should be a high water temp red light, as it is easy to not notice if the guage is getting high.

davidk63, Dec 21, 9:38am
Hi, I am not a mechanic and I have a boxer engine, but the warter is not getting through to cool the engine and it is over heating. Can some lovely person tell me what to do please. My hubby is away, and Im stuck. TIA

kazbanz, Dec 21, 9:50am
Im not being flippant here. its VERY simple. Do NOT drive the vehicle take it to a workshop on a truck. OR call a mobile mechanical service to come to the car.

sw20, Dec 21, 10:28am
Christmas and overheating Subarus. Name a more iconic duo.

davidk63, Dec 21, 11:26am
ok Thank you

realtrader1, Dec 21, 11:56am
I persume Subaru though this is not the only boxer engine so make model year cc rating and kms on the clock. Also how many times has this happened and to what level? Overheating and modern engine do not go well. IF the engine has overheated sufficiently it may be too late to help.

franc123, Dec 21, 12:14pm
Overheating has multiple causes, it's a more complex subject than most realise. Realistically if you need to ask it's best to get pro help.

mechnificent, Dec 21, 2:19pm
Wait till it's cooled right down and then take the radiator cap off and check if there's water in there. If it's low fill it up, if/when it is full, run it with the bonnet up and watch the temp gauge, listen for the sound of the fans coming on. They should come on before the temperature gets much above normal. If the gauge is showing hot and they haven't come on then turn it off and wait for it to cool right down, then top up the radiator again if it needs it and then take it to a mechanic or an auto-electrician.

If/when the engine gets hot, and the fans do come on, turn it off and get back to us and report.

gazzat22, Dec 21, 2:21pm