How do I choose which vehicle would suit me best.

Page 2 / 2
icemans1, Jan 30, 2:54am
i'm not a mechanic, but i do talk to a few

subaru - expensive to maintain and they do break down

honda - transmission issues

mazda - people here say if the make starts with m, avoid it

at the end of the day, ALL cars have issues even rolls royce, but some have more than others

justme..., Jan 30, 3:00am
Thanks iceman, yep I've pretty much been put off both Subaru and Mazda, have a Honda at present and never had a worry, only thing wasa a flat battery, easy peasy!

I get you kazbanz, thanks heaps!

icemans1, Jan 30, 3:10am
oh and i forgot to mention

nissan - a lot of the later models have timing chain stretch issues

carkitter, Jan 30, 6:03am
I read this and then became confused as potential buys ranged from boring Corolla's to Mediocre Nissan's and the most utilitarian of Honda's.

A car you really want is something like a 2.0L DOHC VTEC Honda Torneo (also available as a wagon if you must) or a 2001+ Ford Mondeo (my favourite is the liftback) which has more style than a carpark full of Primera's. At that price your starting to get into the realm of Subaru Legacy B4's too. I'd even take a look at whatever Euro offerings Jazz throws up as Euro cars are great for the ego.

Non-turbo Impreza's and Legacy's are actually pretty average. They have all the disadvantages of a Boxer 4WD car without the legendary rally winning power and handling.

If you want something to stirr the soul a little then I'd forget most of the run-of-the-mill yawn material suggested previously.

zirconium, Jan 30, 8:25am
Carkitter, Justme is on her own with three kids. Boring and pretty therefore = good. The car will very likely need to be suitable for the kids to learn to drive in too, so exciting = bad, lol.

carkitter, Jan 30, 12:22pm